Master Bedroom Makeover

My husband and I bought a BEAUTIFUL home less than 6 months ago.

IShb8xdery3wog1000000000

See? Gorgeous! The previous owners were great; the husband was a builder so he added many incredible features to the home like porcelain tile in all the bathrooms, custom kitchen cabinets, beautiful molding throughout the first floor and master bedroom, and placed engineered wood flooring where I can assume carpet and tile was previously in the family room and kitchen. These improvements definitely kicked the house up a notch, taking it from a standard ’90s builder grade house to a very unique home. This, along with the wooded half acre lot and the fact that all the homes were different as opposed to cookie cutter led us to purchase the house. The whole house, however, was of course decorated to their tastes and was more of a country look. It was all painted dark browns and greens and yellows and oranges and was very beautiful with their leather furniture and stuffed animals (is that the correct term for a taxidermed animal? Is that even a word?) but is a long ways away from my tastes, which are very classic and modern.

I have bounced back and forth trying to decide which room I will begin working on and have had a hard time in doing so. Do I pick the family room, with the puke green paint and the tv with 5,000 wires exposed? Do I pick the dining room with the dark brown paint, that together with my dark furniture, turn the room into a cave? Do I pick the master bath, with its’ greenish brownish greyish textured wall paint, with the cracked tile, original 90s vanity and mirror- laminate countertops included? I eventually decided I would start with my master bedroom, one of the rooms that bothered me the most. 

ISludxtvm7om6a0000000000.

 

(This is a listing photo- not my furniture)

As you can see, they had good taste! I love how clean it is, and the browns work well with the orange. Again, though- not my style. It is high time this bedroom gets a makeover! 😀

Intricate-Bristol-tufted-headboard

This is my headboard, and along with my white, ruffled bedding you can see how these, along with the orange paint would not necessarily compliment each other. I have decided to do an ombre effect I have seen making the rounds of Pinterest and the rest of the internet…

ombre-bedroom_thumb

See this?! I WANT THIS! I want this in my bedroom, and I want it now. The technique provided to you by MaryAnn at Domestically Speaking (http://www.domestically-speaking.com/2012/09/145th-power-of-paint-party-ombre-bedroom-wall-tutorial.html) seems fairly easy and straightforward. 

securedownload

These are the colors I’m using- very calm and relaxing. I think they will make the ceiling appear higher (since it’s standard height, but has the weird kick-out leading to the tray ceiling) and will also compliment the linen headboard. I’m going for a type of french country/elegant look, without being overly stuffy or overly typical french country. Distressed furniture and Parisian monuments and quotes are all the rage as of late, and I try to stay away from fads while staying on trend as much as possible.

I’m also going to rip up the old carpet and do wood flooring in its place. I went to Home Depot and picked out a nice laminate (I saw two gorgeous real wood options that were sadly way out of my price range) and I plan on installing it when I get the room painted, hopefully on this 4-day weekend I have coming up. I originally was stuck between three designs-  a chevron floor, flooring laid on and angle, or a painted floor…

wood-flooring dsc00137110614006_10204374258337220_1778619245_n

 

I think* I have decided to go with the angled floor. But every time I look at the options, I get unsure of myself because I think they are all so beautiful, especially the painted option! I’m just going to wait until the room gets painted and then go from there.

Another thing I want to add are built-ins on either side of the bed. I’m not 100% sold on it yet, but like the wood flooring, I will decide when I get some other things installed and see how it looks. I also want to add higher trim work around the bottom to match the rest of the house.

Lastly, I have this fireplace…

securedownload (1)

 

I don’t particularly care for it, but my husband loves it. It was here when we purchased the house and he wants it to stay. The previous owners had a screen in front of the logs so it looked more like a real fireplace (I actually didn’t even know that it was electric when we first viewed the house) but I’m torn. Maybe a paint job and tiling over the brick will change my mind. We’ll see.

So besides new pillows, artwork, and some trinkets here and there- that’s my master bedroom plan in a nutshell! I’ve never attempted anything besides paint so we will see how this goes. Hopefully I come out in the end life and limb intact. 😉 Time to start painting!

2 thoughts on “Master Bedroom Makeover

Leave a Reply

